top of page

LION'S DEN

He never wavered. I did not get to spend much time with him before he left to join his forefathers but his words still walk with me eternal. Memories we lost seem to be so evident, cutting sharp through the souls of those he ever talked to before he left.

"Stand poised and undaunted, for the future holds your destiny. Us who lived before you have cleared the fog in the mirror. We've groomed you enough therefore be constraint in spirit." He'd say.

Amidst such valour from Mzee Kombo, as we used to call him, there was an aura around him that brought a stench of lies, deceit and greed. Should I say i never trusted Kombo. I didn't. My peers thought I was choosey but trust has always been an issue. It still is.

It is an early sunny Friday morning. Today I was rather early unlike other days when I'm the last to wake up in all the five homestead's of Mwamba. The Cows have been attended, despite their unrest. I'm only left with the sheep but i requested Kitoto to do that for me. I'm basically just basking. I don't know if you relate to an early sunrise in the mountain region. It feels as if one has been born again. You know rain is our next of kin here. A day without rain leaves everyone amazed. Haha yes! Please hold that thought. I didn't say I'm Kikuyu.

So I'm just meditating through the future. Trying to picture opportunities the future holds for me. It has to be me not us, despite there being nine of us. In such village settings, malice reigns and you dare not trust anyone. A shout from Mzee's homestead is heard. From afar I see Grace; she's busy admiring her wrinkled skin and her unshaped nails as if she didn't hear anything. So I choose to ignore. For the second time shouts are heard again and this time very consecutive and alarming. In a village, a shout means danger. Death, thiefs or maybe a fight between family members. Though hesitant, we rush to Mzee Kombo's place to know what kind of battle there is and if it is to our strength, we shall intervene and if not, we go back home and wait for the elders. Alas! From the abundance of the heart flows one's conscience. I knew he was an animal. I knew it was only a facade. Wanzenze just brought home a new wife from the neighbouring community. She is beauty and beauty knows her. So this morning Kombo has decided to eat from another man's pot. He has decided to snatch the meat and the knife from Wanzenze. He is now jubilant that everyone will dance to his music. Everyone has flocked in the hut where he was caught by his third wife. Haha. I tell you it's funny. Women who were busy in the farm already have their version of the story. Children clinging to their mother's skirts, not aware of the happenings are everywhere. My gang has already gathered. My frenzy doesn't allow me to wait. I quickly rush shouting to them.

"You said I'm choosey. Now you see. I knew he was lethal." They all seem ashamed. I care less, anyways my point is home. With such a crime in our community, the consequence is banishment. The elders say you are a boil, and if left to roam about, you'll affect others. We wait for the final say next Tuesday. It's so annoying because from now till then, it's like the village is in a stand still. No stories other than how Mzee Kombo cheated. I'm sure by then, there will be a million versions of the story. Until then! Yes; I know suspense kills. I'm still new here and I'm busy learning to manoeuvre through this thing. I hope we'll walk together through this. See you next Wednesday. I hope Mzee Kombo won't have committed suicide due to the guilt. If he does, end of story. Haha! Stay put people.

98 views3 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page